The Cold, Hard Football Facts are not big on hygiene. But we do clean up once each year at the Pro Football Writers of America annual writing awards.
The PFWA announced its honors in Dallas Friday before the Super Bowl and once again emerged the big winner.
Publisher and potentate of pigskin Kerry J. Byrne earned three honors for the second consecutive year. The awards recognized stories published between Super Bowl XLIII in February 2009 and Super Bowl XLIV in February 2010.
CHFF captured first place in the enterprise reporting category for our multi-part series on myths of the old AFL.
CHFF's research was used by NFL Films as part of its AFL 50-year-annivesary special. It was the second year in a row that we earned top honors from the PFWA for enterprise reporting. Last year, CHFF was honored for its "epic all-time franchise rankings." also earned second-place honors this year in the "column" category for "The statistical rot of the old Oakland empire" and second place in the "game story" category for its report on New Orleans' Monday Night Football victory over New England, "Meet the new boss."
Here's a look at all the honorees in each category:
1. Sean Jensen, St. Paul Pioneer Press
2. Marla Ridenour, Akron Beacon Journal
3. Thomas Danyluk, Pro Football Weekly and Brian Heyman, West Chester (N.Y.) Journal News
1. Shalise Manza Young, Providence Journal
2. Kerry Byrne, Cold, Hard Football Facts
3. Bob McGinn, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel
1. Howard Balzer, Gridiron Gateway
2. Kerry Byrne, Cold, Hard Football Facts
3. Paul Kuharsky,
1. Kerry Byrne, Cold, Hard Football Facts
2. Nolan Nawrocki, Pro Football Weekly
3. Nolan Nawrocki, Pro Football Weekly
1. Teresa Walker, Associated Press, Nashville
2. Sean Jensen, St. Paul Pioneer Press
3. Greg Bedard, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel